Give Me Space!

Photo: Give Me Space!

DIY’s current interactive, multi-sensory show for PMLD audiences blasts off into space to explore the universe.

As the audience travels to other planets and meets new civilisations their multi-sensory journey is enhanced by interactive props, created with designer Nerissa Cargill-Thompson, and for the first time, DIY has worked with musicians Hannah McCabe and Eve Harrison to create a beautiful live score for the show.

‘Give Me Space!’, like all of DIY’s performances, has been devised and created by our company of performers with learning disabilities. Using the themes of space and travel, DIY has created a multi-sensory, interactive theatre experience specially designed for young people with Profound and Multiple Learning Disabilities.

‘Give Me Space!’ is currently touring schools and arts organisations including Piper Hill School, Delamere School, the Manchester Hospital School and Bury College.

Would you like to book a performance? Please get in touch!

Using the Give Me Space! show as a real example, we have produced a 12 page resource guide to creating Sensory Theatre with PMLD audiences based on this show. You can download this for free by clicking on the link below. There is also a downloadable social story for the show.

Download our resource guide Give Me Space!

Download the Give Me Space! social story resource here

Video

Performances

  • Salford University Applied Theatre

    Friday 2nd March 2018
  • ‘Fill the Space’ event @Angel Centre

    Tuesday 13th March 2018
  • Manchester Hospital School

    Tuesday 20th March 2018
  • Delamere School

    Tuesday 27th March 2018
  • Piper Hill School

    Tuesday 24th April 2018
  • Bury College

    Tuesday 8th May 2018
  • Firwood School

    Tuesday 22nd May 2018
  • 'Sharing the Space!' training event, Angel Centre

    Tuesday 12th June 2018
  • Langworthy Cornerstone

    Thursday 14th June 2018
  • Oakwood Academy

    Friday 22nd June 2018
  • Piper Hill School

    Tuesday 2nd October 2018
  • Springwood School

    Tuesday 21 may 2019
  • Enrich Festival, Watford

    Sunday 9 July 2019
If you'd like DIY Theatre to perform at your centre, please get in touch